Just a Thought…

16 Sep

Revelation? 

            Will people ever solve their problems?

People are ego driven. We want…and we all “want” to different degrees. I think that people who want way more than is healthy for them are most likely to do harm to others. I think that people who want way less than is healthy for them are most likely to do harm to themselves. So I wonder if perhaps God committed suicide or worse yet, he’ll someday kill us all!

Sometimes in class I would ask my students if they thought they would go to heaven and usually all of their hands would go straight up. I know that not everyone believes in heaven but I think that we all believe that IF there really were such a place we’d get an invitation, or would “wake up” there after…you know. It’s not something that we often think about or dwell upon but I think that no mater who you are you probably feel that you’re a pretty good person and/or have pretty good excuses for anything bad that you may have done anyway.

So then I ask my students to imagine that when they get to Heaven they meet someone else there who they really didn’t like back on Earth and who they really didn’t think belonged there in Heaven with all of the good people and quickly their responses would be, “That would suck!”  Or, “I’d be pissed”  Or, “No way! I’d have to go talk to God!”

Then I would point out to them that if they were going to go to Heaven and still have the ability to be upset with things, people, places and events, wouldn’t that mean they would still be back on Earth right where they started? What kind of Heaven would it be if they could still get angry or frustrated?  What kind of heaven would that be? Are there emotions in heaven? Or just one emotion? And wouldn’t that mean the absence of emotions…if there were only one?

I think that if we are ever going to solve our problems here on Earth, in education, finance, poverty, health…whatever it may be, we’re going to have to get over ourselves first.

5 Responses to “Just a Thought…”

  1. calaurore9 September 17, 2012 at 3:05 am #

    Thoughtful. Insightful.

  2. Aldo Matteucci September 20, 2012 at 7:46 am #

    I’m surprised that you – as teacher – worry. How many times have you explained to your students that 0 and infinity are the same? Eternity is over in a jiffy.

    To cover all bases God has included among the blessed all unborn (in fact there was a huge migration lately, as they left Limbus. Medicine tells us that natural miscarriages outstrip live born. I presume they are intended as neutrons…

    • gpicone September 20, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

      I have to ask: Where do you get your information?

      • Aldo Matteucci September 20, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

        It’s all in good humor and jest:

        (a) 0 and infinity: maths is math – the inference is mine
        (b) over 60% of fertilezed eggs don’t implant – according to medical literature: with 100 billion people born, and say 150 billion unborn – Heaven must be a strange place to be in
        (c) Limbus was abolished by BXVI not too long ago…

        Am I upsetting an apple cart somewhere?

  3. amiesanatomy September 21, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

    I enjoyed reading this post and found your thoughts on heaven quite interesting – whether people still got angry and frustrated, and indeed, the idealized world of western heaven is in stark contrast to the Pureland in Buddhism. Would be fascinating for you to make a comparison.

Leave a comment

Bridgette Tales

Everybody has a story. Here's a little of mine.

drama_and_diaries

Unleashing the beauty of creativity

mvschulze

Stream of Thought observations, images, and more

SARAH THE GARDENER

Real Gardening in my Real Garden

My Life As A Wife

Have I Lost My Mind?

Amber Evergreen

Luxury Curvy Companion in Scotland

When Life Hands You Lemons...

Figuring life out, one post at a time.

Mono Girl

Life Beyond Tired

Pen of Contention

Giving ink to life's little annoyances...

Not All Who Wander Are Lost

Travel the world, one trip at a time

The Floating Thoughts

thoughts of yours & thoughts of ours...would create an unforgettable memoir !!!

My Journey to the CrossFit Games

Relentlessly Pursuing Excellence in CrossFit & In Life

The Mouse's Soapbox

observations from a certain, unique perspective - especially, these days, about dating

dancingnomads

Travelling the world and dancing

ruminationville

a gated community for the overthinker

Three's a Herd

Mothering a preemie, a princess, and a work-in-progress

Michele Kendzie

mom of 3 unschoolers, photographer, and digital scrapbook designer

ScribbleDartsfromtheHeart

creative expression and imaginative exploration

J.R.Goldrich

Perspectives, Musings, and Messages from the All