Who Can It Be Now?

14 Nov

Remember hearing the phone ring, picking it up and then saying hello… without already knowing who was on the other end? If you do then you are probably close to my age. Those were the days when answering the phone was like going on a mini-adventure.

Could this be for me? Is it the call I have been expecting? Will it be good news? Bad news? A friend? Family? Business? Pleasure? Who can it be now?

Was it good to have a ringing phone be the beginning of an adventure?

Or is it better when you already know who is on the other end before you pick it up…or decide to let it keep ringing.

Once upon a time when your phone rang you could always pretend that you weren’t home…now when your cell phone rings, where else could you be? Today, the advent of cell phones has made it very hard for children (with cell phones) to avoid their parents which I suppose is good for the parents but not so good for the adventurous teen.

And of course texting is like creating a carbon copy (remember those?) of your message for later proof that you tried to reach that certain someone when they were pretending to be “out of touch”…because pretending is exactly what they were doing now wasn’t it?

And of course let’s not forget that cameras are now on every corner and street light and in every store and on your phone too, so Soon there will be no hiding from anyone at any time…unless your future plans include living on that reservation in Brave New World.

Once upon a time the adventure was in not knowing who could be on the other end of that line.

In the not too distant future the adventure will be in trying to remain a mystery yourself…

 

5 Responses to “Who Can It Be Now?”

  1. momshieb November 14, 2013 at 1:14 am #

    My sons have managed nicely by using the old “I left my charger at _______ so I couldn’t answer your text.” I actually miss the old mystery ring phones: they would have answered those!!!

  2. AndroidNurd November 14, 2013 at 2:33 am #

    Reblogged this on It's My Box and commented:
    How true… Sometimes I miss the old days. I’ll be honest though I do enjoy being able to ignore people with precision.

  3. Ol' Philosophizer November 14, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

    What I remember, fondly, were the days when a telephone call came from someone you might actually want to talk to, not from a salesperson or fundraiser who uses the phone to invite himself into your home. If we could eliminate them, I might give up “caller ID” and reintroduce some mystery back into my life. That might actually be a fun thing to do.

  4. W E Patterson November 14, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

    And you rarely got a long distance call (or at least I didn’t) from family or friends in another state unless it was on Sunday, or after 11PM — it was just too expensive. If I picked up the phone mid-day and it was a relative on the opposite side of the country, my heart would miss a beat because I knew something really serious was going down. Now my wife (we live in Florida), calls her sister in NJ from the supermarket because she can’t remember that secret ingredient she puts in her potato salad.

  5. avwalters November 14, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    Me, I’m headed for that reservation. Unfortunately, it’ll be with my cell phone in my pocket. I never thought I’d be one to abandon the landline but I have.

Leave a Reply

The Mouse's Soapbox

observations from a certain, unique perspective - especially, these days, about dating

dancingnomads

Travelling the world and dancing

ruminationville

a gated community for the overthinker

Southern Georgia Bunny

Adventures of an Southern Bunny everything from dating, sex, life and shake your head moments.

Three's a Herd

Mothering a preemie, a princess, and a work-in-progress

Michele Kendzie

family photojournalist, scrapbook designer, and mom of three unschoolers in Fredericksburg, Virginia

lilrant

...What you see is what you get.

ScribbleDartsfromtheHeart

creative expression and imaginative exploration

J.R.Goldrich

Perspectives, Musings, and Messages from the All

Making it write

mostly poetry, partly peculiar.

a cooking pot and twisted tales

Thoughts and Tales...A Lifestyle Blog with a Zing.

opening the shutters

Musings of a Mad Woman...

Terminal Cruise

One woman's weird and wonderful world

The Arm Chair Pontificator

Satirical & Poetic Musings Of A Self-Proclaimed Nobel Prize Winner

jeffrey m hartman

Examining Special Education In Concept And Practice

alesiablogs

A Blog About Ordinary Life Told In Extraordinary Fashion!

KO Rural Mad As Hell Blog

Rural doctor, mom, writes poems, dance, sing.

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

