God Bless Us, Everyone!

28 Aug

Here in the United States we use a lot of stuff. We have approximately 5% of the world’s population and use about 30% of what the world has to offer (or more depending on what you’re counting) and even though we tend to also complain a lot here in the U.S. we really should just keep it on the down low and count our blessings…at least those of us who are in on the using of the 30% of the world’s stuff…not all of us are, but that’s another story.

I like to watch baseball and during every baseball game, at least here in New York, during the seventh inning stretch, everyone rises and sings “God Bless America.”

Personally I believe that God has done a pretty good job in blessing us…at least during my life time…and I feel a bit embarrassed every time I hear that song because it sounds to me like we’re being a bit selfish by not including others in the world…especially since we are, you know, kinda using up all their stuff along with our stuff too, and maybe rubbing it in a bit…

And we do have an awful lot of soldiers, and drones, and aircraft carriers and corporations and tanks and stuff like that roaming all over the globe keeping an eye on our stuff and giving God a helping hand so to speak.

Plus it worries me that being only 5% of the population and using 30% of everything can’t go on forever before the other 95% gets wise and starts asking God for a little help of their own…especially since we’re already complaining over here that only 1% of us is using up 99% of the 30% that the rest of the world is missing.

So I propose that maybe whenever we get the urge to sing that song that we sing the same tune but alter the words a bit and make it more inclusive…at least in the way it sounds to the rest of the world. I figure that it’s the nice thing to do, to kinda show our gratitude and not let everyone else in the world feel so left out.

So here it is. I call it “God Bless Us, Everyone!”

God bless us, everyone. And the lands that we love.

Stand beside us and guide us through the night with your light from above.

From the atmosphere to the continents to the oceans, white with foam.

God bless us everyone, on Earth, our home.

God bless us everyone, on Earth, our home!

It’s the least we can do…because I seriously doubt that we’re gonna stop using all that stuff anyway…and if God does come back to Earth someday (did she ever leave?) we might want to at least be able to say that we weren’t just in it for ourselves.

10 Responses to “God Bless Us, Everyone!”

  1. tric August 28, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

    I live in Ireland and my daughter travelled to work for the Summer in the US. She worked in a restaurant/bar and was stunned that they did not recycle. There was a large group from Ireland working there and in the beginning they tried to organise the recycling but no one was interested and they kept chucking everything into any container so they gave up. Over here most houses and all businesses recycle. We cannot boast about much but we do do that.

    • Morgan Mussell August 28, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

      In some cities, at least in California, recycling happens due to the way trash is picked up, and in San Francisco, it’s the law, though I fear that if comes to the Supreme Court, they may find a way to declare the practice unconstitutional.

  2. serendipityherbals August 28, 2013 at 11:15 pm #

    A beautiful and wonderful post!!!

    Something I want to add about recycling, it is only a partial measure. A good deal, if not most recycling is shipped on barges over to China, where what can be recovered is, the rest left in landfills over there, and more products sold back over here. It would be nice if we invested in some of our own infrastructure to process recyclables here, save oil and gas, and have old fashioned American manufacturing again. Making quality items that do not need to be replaced often, also goes a long way to helping reduce waste. Used to be one could buy a table or clothes, and they would last and last, furniture being handed down to the next generation. Now, most items on the market are made low quality, with the expectation that they will not last very long and need to be replaced. I’m sitting on a wooden chair handed down to our family, and feeling rather lucky for it!

    When I buy something, I really try to wait and save my money for the best quality that I can find, so I can give it to my kids. That used to be the way of it, before, places like IKEA became the norm!

  3. serendipityherbals August 28, 2013 at 11:21 pm #

    Reblogged this on serendipityherbals and commented:
    God Bless Us, Everyone!
    This is a beautiful posting, and I wanted to share with all!

    • brucethomasw August 29, 2013 at 3:20 am #

      Well put. As a Canadian cousin, I’m often flabergasted about the American system. Not to be blind, us Canadians are just about as wasteful for certain. It is diificult to understand American hegemony and the doctraine of manifest destiny is alive and well in this present age.

      On this 50th anniversey of MLK’s famous “I have dream speech”, I’m certain that he would be sad and revolted indeed, to see the state of America . . . so many missed opportunities, to bring forth justice to the earth and freedom to humanity that he spoke of, and much of the world today, yearns for. Thank you for this post.

  4. Anne August 29, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

    Great post! I agree with the other reminders to reduce, reuse, and recycle. The trouble often is, though, that there is not a workable system in place for the reusing and recycling. When I’m in California we put all plastics in the recycling bin. When I’m in Alberta I can only put the #2 plastics in the recycling bin. There is no local industry currently using the rest.

  5. hoboduke August 31, 2013 at 5:45 am #

    Squandering natural resources is done in the name of “saving the planet”. California is burning 200,000 acres because we don’t clear out dead trees and bushes. We can actually make money by creating ethanol by processing the dead and fire hazard bio waste. BUT NO BECAUSE IT IS EVIL TO CLEAR OUT DEAD STUFF THAT FALLS IN THE WOODS! Burn baby, burn! Oh yeah, let’s put firefighters in the line of death fires too, because we cherish dead trees and dried out scrub.
    How much is China consuming in natural resources and energy to pollute the world? Fire up those coal plant China, we will cut back in the USA to save the earth at our expense.

  6. carmen September 10, 2013 at 3:41 am #

    Love your new version of the song!!

    WOW! I am Canadian and as I was thinking about 9-11 coming up on Wednesday and that I want to mention it in my blog, I thought about the song GOD BLESS AMERICA, but that everyone should be included, thus, the words of Tiny Tim are more appropriate!!

    If I ended my post with only GOD BLESS AMERICA, being Canadian, I’d like to say, God bless North America, but that leaves out Central and South America. So, if I say GOD BLESS THE AMERICAS, well then, what about my family in Europe? And a good friend of mine has relatives in China and they need God’s blessings, too. I also have family and friends in Australia and New Zealand and now with Facebook, I have friends in Africa and through blogging, I’ve met some great people in the Middle East. You see where this is going?

    Tiny Tim’s prayer says it all!!

    Here you are with the same thought! I want to say GOD BLESS US, EVERYONE, even though it’s not Christmas, a time when we hear these immortal words.

    Thank you, Charles Dickens, for including the whole world! We all need God’s blessings – everyone!

    A little off topic, but that’s my comment.

    Good night and may God bless!
    ❤ carmen

  7. Amy September 22, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

    I like the idea. I would amend it to say “Bless everyone, on earth, our home.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Pledge Allegiance to . . . | Resident Alien -- Being Dutch in America - August 29, 2013

    […] Ipledgeafallegiance just changed the lyrics to the song “God Bless America”. Which reminded me that I once wrote my own version of the Pledge of Allegiance. It was not too long after 9-11 and my three-year-old daughter’s Montessori teacher decided to start each school day with the Pledge of Allegiance. […]

Leave a Reply

The Mouse's Soapbox

observations from a certain, unique perspective - especially, these days, about dating

dancingnomads

Travelling the world and dancing

ruminationville

a gated community for the overthinker

Southern Georgia Bunny

Adventures of an Southern Bunny everything from dating, sex, life and shake your head moments.

Three's a Herd

Mothering a preemie, a princess, and a work-in-progress

Michele Kendzie

family photojournalist, scrapbook designer, and mom of three unschoolers in Fredericksburg, Virginia

lilrant

...What you see is what you get.

ScribbleDartsfromtheHeart

creative expression and imaginative exploration

J.R.Goldrich

Perspectives, Musings, and Messages from the All

Making it write

mostly poetry, partly peculiar.

a cooking pot and twisted tales

Thoughts and Tales...A Lifestyle Blog with a Zing.

opening the shutters

Musings of a Mad Woman...

Terminal Cruise

One woman's weird and wonderful world

The Arm Chair Pontificator

Satirical & Poetic Musings Of A Self-Proclaimed Nobel Prize Winner

jeffrey m hartman

Examining Special Education In Concept And Practice

alesiablogs

A Blog About Ordinary Life Told In Extraordinary Fashion!

KO Rural Mad As Hell Blog

Rural doctor, mom, writes poems, dance, sing.

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

