Where Did He Go?

27 Mar

I just have a question… and I am being serious when I ask it and I am not trying to be flippant or rude or disrespectful at all. I sincerely mean that, although I do realize that simply by asking the question I will appear flippant, rude and probably disrespectful.

But here’s the question:

I saw this statement today “He Is Risen” and I know that the “He” refers to Jesus/God and I know that the word “Risen” refers to his having left the grave and ascended to heaven and I also know that since Jesus’ body went missing also, we are not just referring to his soul having risen but to his body having risen along with it too. 

So I just want to ask if anyone knows where he went…as in where is heaven?

I haven’t been to church in a while and I am a bit in the dark  as to where religious folk these days consider heaven to be. Is it an actual place? Is it in this reality as in our physical universe or is it in another dimension that can’t be seen by living beings?

I am assuming that since we Christians believe that Jesus took his body with him then bodies must be of some use there but this is just speculation on my part because the rest of us here on Earth never take our bodies anywhere after we die and many of us agree that it is our soul that does the extraterrestrial traveling.

I don’t see how heaven could be in our minds because those cease functioning when we die otherwise we certainly wouldn’t bury the dead or have their bodies (and minds) cremated. And if heaven and Jesus were in the physical and visible universe (As I believed when I was little) we certainly haven’t spotted either with the Hubble telescope yet even though while traveling at the speed of light Jesus’ body would only be 2,012 light years away by now. (Of course I do realize that God could do better than the speed of light if he wanted to)

I also know that many people believe that their loved ones are out there somewhere (and I’m not even excluding myself from that group) because whenever Jonathan Edward or other mediums of his ilk says he is communicating with them many gather around to listen in on the conversations.

Although I hate to think that life in Heaven means hanging around for all eternity just waiting for John to answer his head…but I have always been taught to suppose that anything is possible.

So once again, I am asking all of the true and faithful believers out there…and I ask without judgment or prejudice or disrespect to anyone’s beliefs, because we all must admit that there are quite a few different and varied beliefs out there.

But to all who possess faith in the belief that “He Has Risen” and considering that this is now 2013 years after the event and in light of all of the scientific discoveries that have been made since then and in light of the fact that billions of people were recently so fascinated with the apparent importance of choosing a new Catholic Pope, I humbly ask:

Where do you believe exists the destination to which he went?

 

 

 

20 Responses to “Where Did He Go?”

  1. Noah March 27, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

    Well, I’d suggest finding a nice Baptist or Presbyterian church to go to on Easter, and ask the pastor. He’ll probably do a much better job in person, especially with the give-and-take, then can be done over the internet. 🙂

    • Val March 27, 2013 at 10:37 pm #

      Yup, agreed. I would suggest asking AFTER Easter though, not to say you couldn’t ask on Easter, but it’s kind of a crazy morning in any church and you’d have a better shot to get a thorough answer if you either made an appointment or asked the week AFTER Easter.

  2. trophos March 27, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

    This is a great question! I figured Aquinas would have addressed it, and so he did, but not as clearly as I might like. At ST69 (http://www.newadvent.org/summa/5069.htm) he says that place is a concept related to bodies, and souls don’t have bodies, so they don’t occupy a ‘place’ in the way we commonly understand it. Seems a bit of a clever machination. Where God is gets him into a similar conundrum (http://www.newadvent.org/summa/1008.htm). But I’ll be curious to see if anyone explains the modern ideas about the issue, particularly Protestant ones, since I imagine they’d be a bit less mystical.

  3. thedavenportblog March 27, 2013 at 8:18 pm #

    It doesn’t matter where; it’s a metaphor. Jesus lives again because of us, because we are his body now, because we are the body of Christ. That’s a metaphor too. Jesus lives as long as we feed the hungry, heal the sick, comfort the afflicted. Again, metaphor. Naturally people can do all those things without the Jesus metaphor, and thankfully, many, many people do. As for me, I appreciate and celebrate the metaphor because I was raised with it, because it’s comfortable, because after I walked away from it for a couple decades, there it still was when I wanted it again, waiting patiently for me like an old, worn, familiar, kind of hokey book.

    Hope dies sometimes. Hope rises again. Hope lives as long as there’s somebody, somewhere, hoping. Alleluia.

    • thedavenportblog March 27, 2013 at 8:20 pm #

      P.S. My perspective is that of a mainstream, liberal Presbyterian. For what it’s worth.

      • Val March 27, 2013 at 10:42 pm #

        Yes it is, and as a more conservative Presbyterian the church universal for a few thousand years holds that it’s a bit more than metaphorical, especially since the ascension is what allowed for Pentecost and the indwelling of the Holy Spirit. If God and Christ are metaphorical, no one should care a whit about them. One thing one cannot do with a metaphorical Jesus is use the metaphor to hold up salvation, only an incarnate, crucified, resurrected, ascended, glorified Christ can do that.

  4. Emma Duncan March 27, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

    Maybe it’s another dimension? They’ve proven with the Large Hadron Collider at CERN that a particle can be in 2 places at once so who knows, scientifically it may actually be a place… I’m a Christian but one who isn’t afraid of facts and science. If Christians really believe that God made the Universe it’s likely he’s had to “dumb down” to get His message across until we can begin to catch up. I’m now wondering if it was the guys at CERN who found this out about the particles. If it wasn’t, then please blame my ignorance on the fact Im a former (scientifically challenged) drama student not that I’m a Christian!

    • timidvoice March 31, 2013 at 2:28 am #

      I like this- God meets us where we’re at, at our level.

  5. aurorawatcherak March 27, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

    Emma has some good thoughts on God that we all ought to pay attention to in answering this question. God does not adhere to our frame of reality. He isn’t physical and He isn’t bound by the space-time continuum. There’s really no way we mere humans can understand Him. At best, we see through a mirror darkly.

    The Bible says God knew us before we were formed in the womb. There are allusions throughout that suggest that God lives outside of time. Creation was a past event for us, but for Him, probably not. So, Jesus’ physical body — bound in time — was resurrected and — I don’t know, honestly, where it went. And, it doesn’t really matter to me because He sent His Holy Spirit to be with me moment by moment and that’s far more important to me than where Jesus’ body might be.

    As far as our bodies go — when we die, we’re buried and our bodies rot. Our souls, however, are in paradise that moment with Jesus. It says that our bodies will be remade with the earth when Jesus returns. Again, that’s good enough for me.

    I don’t expect to understand God wholly from my limited human perspective. I don’t expect to have all my questions answered right now. I am far more interested in my relationship with Jesus Christ right now and how that affects my relationships with others right now than I am about “angels on a head of a pin” considerations.

    I don’t mean that flippantly. I’m hoping you will take that with the honesty in which it is offered. I suspect the answer lies somewhere in Emma’s dimensional differences and the idea that God doesn’t live in time, but I don’t think any human being is going to have that answer until Jesus comes back.

    • Val March 27, 2013 at 10:44 pm #

      I like this very much.

    • howsyourlovelife March 28, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

      Agreed. There are so many details that we are not yet meant to understand. I look forward to the day when I get many questions answered, on that side of heaven, wherever that is!

  6. jcmarckx2009 March 27, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

    That is the kind of question that go me and my inquiring mind in a lot of trouble while growing up in my strict Catholic household.

  7. Val March 27, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

    One of the weird keys was the mysterious Resurrection body (which baffled the Corinthian church). Resurrected Christ could do nifty things like walk through walls and appear out of nowhere. I’m okay with the ascension being somewhat mysterious. I agree with aurorawatcherak, it’s beyond a human frame of reference.

  8. alesiablogs March 28, 2013 at 12:21 am #

    I heard he was at McDonalds ordering a Big Mac.

  9. alesiablogs March 28, 2013 at 12:31 am #

    I am sorry I just could not resist what I wrote above. : )

    Physically speaking-The bible states He (meaning Jesus) is at the right hand of the Father. This was taught to me as far back as I can remember as a Lutheran. I go to a nondenominational church now, but I consider my roots Lutheran. I truly am grateful for a Higher Being.

  10. NO ULTERIOR MOTIVE March 29, 2013 at 1:28 am #

    To me, His destination is not important. The most important thing for me to be believe, is that He IS, and Always Will BE.

    • timidvoice March 31, 2013 at 2:32 am #

      Such an interesting question and conversation. We don’t really know but obviously God is spirit so heaven is a spiritual plane and we will receive new spiritual bodies. Though I do wonder because Jesus had a resurrected body that was clearly physical, did it change into a new spiritual unbroken body in heaven? Or back to his original form before he became a man?

  11. peggymen March 31, 2013 at 11:27 pm #

    I’ve read several of your posts, and you always seem to ask thought provoking and insightful questions about religion, the afterlife, etc… Being Catholic (well an inconsistent Catholic), I am always amazed about the comfort and ambiguity of religion. Religion provides me comfort because it validates the existence of an afterlife, yet there’s so much that I don’t know, such as “Where do you believe exists the destination to which he went?”

    Great post!

  12. kqduane July 27, 2013 at 3:09 am #

    Jesus said heaven was like a wedding banquet. So, I don’t care where it’s held, I want to be there.

Leave a Reply

The Mouse's Soapbox

observations from a certain, unique perspective - especially, these days, about dating

dancingnomads

Travelling the world and dancing

ruminationville

a gated community for the overthinker

Southern Georgia Bunny

Adventures of an Southern Bunny everything from dating, sex, life and shake your head moments.

Three's a Herd

Mothering a preemie, a princess, and a work-in-progress

Michele Kendzie

family photojournalist, scrapbook designer, and mom of three unschoolers in Fredericksburg, Virginia

lilrant

...What you see is what you get.

ScribbleDartsfromtheHeart

creative expression and imaginative exploration

J.R.Goldrich

Perspectives, Musings, and Messages from the All

Making it write

mostly poetry, partly peculiar.

a cooking pot and twisted tales

Thoughts and Tales...A Lifestyle Blog with a Zing.

opening the shutters

Musings of a Mad Woman...

Terminal Cruise

One woman's weird and wonderful world

The Arm Chair Pontificator

Satirical & Poetic Musings Of A Self-Proclaimed Nobel Prize Winner

jeffrey m hartman

Examining Special Education In Concept And Practice

alesiablogs

A Blog About Ordinary Life Told In Extraordinary Fashion!

KO Rural Mad As Hell Blog

Rural doctor, mom, writes poems, dance, sing.

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

