The changeling…

16 Feb

Image “And you are?”

 

 

Here’s another thing that I just don’t understand about my bank. Perhaps you have a similar experience at yours?

I’ve been banking at my bank for almost 30 years now and even though my bank has been swallowed up by other banks over the years, each one larger than the one before it, I have remained constant…a little older and worse for wear perhaps but still the same me with the same name, street address, telephone number, and most importantly I like to think, the same harmless and friendly expression and face that I’ve always had.

And when I hand over my checks, cash and deposit slips the teller happily smiles and takes my money and asks if there is anything else they can do for me.

And when I smile back and say, “Oh yes, I’d like to cash this check and take out some of that money that I’ve stored here for the past 30 years.” The teller always smiles back and says,

“May I see some ID please?”

Does this happen to you? Or am I the only person who is suddenly transformed into an unrecognizable life form whenever I ask for money from my bank?

 

 

 

13 Responses to “The changeling…”

  1. Shirley Buxton February 16, 2013 at 4:17 am #

    …or when my
    bank has been taken over by another . . . does my little sack of money go rolling down the street in a red wagon to the new place?

  2. onnovocks February 16, 2013 at 10:10 am #

    Ha,.. in other words, we,.. are the piggy bank. They also like changing the rules during the game. Remember that they encouraged everyone to use their ATM cards “to save money and keep costs down” and when everyone did use their cards they started charging a fee for every withdrawal. That is when I got back in line, because I could still cash a check for free.

    Then there was my Mothers account. She moved to Europe and 22 years later the bank decided they would no longer keep accounts with a foreign address. They made an ultimatum to move the funds within 30 days. When we made the arrangements for the substantial account, they promptly took 8 months to complete the transfer. Service with a sneer, so no, you are not the only one, and you forgot to mention that you were asking the bank for Your money, not theirs!

  3. Harold Knight February 16, 2013 at 10:34 am #

    Suddenly? I walk into my bank branch, the manager, with whom I have had many business conversations over the years, says, “Good morning, Mr. Knight,” from her desk, and the teller asks for my ID. Rules are rules and corporations are corporations. Try getting your brother who lives two states away as a signer on your account so when you kick off he’ll have money ready to scatter your ashes. Has to appear in person before that same branch manager who knows your name.

  4. samuel13208 February 16, 2013 at 12:31 pm #

    It does make a difference to have an intelligent person behind the counter versus the automaton type person who can’t do any thinking on their own. I’ve had good experiences with my local Chase branch. They actually do recognize me and have done business based on that. Sometimes you can tell looking into a person’s face, if they are all there or not 🙂

  5. rickwilliamspga.com February 16, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

    G, that’s depressing and comforting at the same time. Obviously, since you’ve been banking there for 30 years, something continues to draw you in. Perhaps it’s just the “comfort” of knowing the branch is there, it may be convenient, the tellers are friendly (even if a bit clueless). Yiu know you can deposit, cash, transfer your money. You know you can screw with them as you wish.

    But man, after all that time, wouldn’t it be nice if someone actually called you by name and said, “thank you for trusting us with your money”?

  6. RAB February 16, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

    I was well known by managers and tellers at the bank where I banked for 40 years, like you remaining the same me (and low personnel turnover too) while the bank was eaten by, and became, progressively larger and more predatory fish…. And the tellers would greet me by name and then, for EVERY transaction, even a cash deposit into my checking account (once the bank became Bank of America), asked for my ID (actually, “would you just swipe your card?”). “It’s for your protection,” they’d say. Sixteen months ago, fed up with this and with the overall shenanigans of BofA, I switched to a genuinely local bank. My account is not large. From the second week, they all knew who I was; no one has asked me to swipe any cards or even produce them; and once when I forgot my checkbook and deposit slips the teller simply opened my account and dealt with my deposit (which included cash-back). When I had to deal with anl emergency the assistant manager stayed after hours with me and plied the telephone until it was solved. MOVE YOUR MONEY!

  7. Below Zero | Above Infinity February 17, 2013 at 6:01 am #

    Banks are strange… things. My parents both worked for banks for about 35 years each. But they get the same exact treatment you or I do. My bank even sets up accounts to discourage live encounters with customers – I get a fee if I use a live teller over the ATM!

  8. Barbara Backer-Gray February 17, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    Actually, always asking for ID is a good thing. Even if they know you. It shows that it’s an automatic step. And it should be. We have a bank here that I rarely go to, because it’s out of the way, and my husband usually gets money from the same bank in the Valley. So I go to this bank less than once a year. The last time I went, a cashier that I had never met helped me. I said I’d like to take out $400 and I wrote a check for it. She took it and began getting money. So I waited for the moment that she’d ask for my ID, to make sure I was the person on the check, and that I hadn’t just stolen the checkbook from someone. But she didn’t. She counted out the money and I said, “Now how do you know I didn’t steal that check?” This confused her, so I explained, and she tried to defend herself by saying, “Well we always see the same faces in here”. So I told her I hadn’t been in the bank more than four times in six years, and she’d never seen me. She apologized. … And STILL didn’t ask me for my ID. I walked out of the bank with $400. My husband later told one of the higher-ups in the main branch about it, so they can make sure to train their cashiers to ALWAYS ask for ID.

  9. errinspelling.wordpress.com February 17, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

    i had the same bank for 33 years..someone took money out, so my brother said not to use ,until he finds out what happened….i try to deposit a check into a new bank and they fingerprint me,like a criminal…and ask for a million other things, but i have never heard of fingerprinting and wonder if anyone else has.

  10. FreeTimeStudio February 18, 2013 at 12:16 am #

    I’ve only been at my small county bank for about six years. In the first year they called me, personally, when the department of revenue had frozen my account because of something my ex-husband neglected to do on our taxes. The branch manager called and told me, rather than bouncing checks while my “letter” was in the mail. She knew me well enough to know that this was not of my character. Ex-husband said I should just pay the $1700 that the DOR was looking for. Instead, I called the DOR (he claimed it would raise red flags… I had nothing to hide so I called). Instead of paying the $1700 I had my former employer fax over a piece of paper outlining some of my stock trade prices and GONE… problem solved. DIDN’T pay a doller that I didn’t owe.

    Point is… the bank called me personally. And they always say my name. They even know me in the drive through. They’re not corporate owned. They’re a nice, community bank and I LOVE them!!!

    • gpicone February 18, 2013 at 3:55 am #

      That’s great! A lot of very nice people work in banks and the tellers at my bank all know me and say hi when I come in but they won’t/can’t give me any money without seeing my license. I know it’s not their fault but I just find it amazing that these same rules don’t apply to banks when they begin frivolously abusing our money in swindles and bad loans etc…deregulation I fear will be the ruin of us all.

      • FreeTimeStudio February 26, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

        Banks are the enemy, for sure! How about when we have to put our fingerprints on the checks we’re cashing? Isn’t that weird?

  11. bubblytee February 21, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

    I agree with Barbara; it is for our own protection that they ask for id. I seem to have twins all over the world because i often run into people who say they know me or knew me in another locale.

    The main concern i have with banks is their computer security system. A couple of times we have seen people access our account and make charges to our acct. Fortunately we caught it in time.

    It is better to have our funds distributed into several banks (the larger the better i believe…they have the resources to hire the best computer geeks to protect their system), so that if one gets hacked, not all our money leaves from that basket. My daughter works for a bank and this is her advice.

Leave a Reply

The Mouse's Soapbox

observations from a certain, unique perspective - especially, these days, about dating

dancingnomads

Travelling the world and dancing

ruminationville

a gated community for the overthinker

Southern Georgia Bunny

Adventures of an Southern Bunny everything from dating, sex, life and shake your head moments.

Three's a Herd

Mothering a preemie, a princess, and a work-in-progress

Michele Kendzie

family photojournalist, scrapbook designer, and mom of three unschoolers in Fredericksburg, Virginia

lilrant

...What you see is what you get.

ScribbleDartsfromtheHeart

creative expression and imaginative exploration

J.R.Goldrich

Perspectives, Musings, and Messages from the All

Making it write

mostly poetry, partly peculiar.

a cooking pot and twisted tales

Thoughts and Tales...A Lifestyle Blog with a Zing.

opening the shutters

Musings of a Mad Woman...

Terminal Cruise

One woman's weird and wonderful world

The Arm Chair Pontificator

Satirical & Poetic Musings Of A Self-Proclaimed Nobel Prize Winner

jeffrey m hartman

Examining Special Education In Concept And Practice

alesiablogs

A Blog About Ordinary Life Told In Extraordinary Fashion!

KO Rural Mad As Hell Blog

Rural doctor, mom, writes poems, dance, sing.

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

