Sweet Home Alabama!

10 Nov

     Another 44 hours without power and this time because of snow…and only a few inches…but they say the snow was heavy… as in heavy snow. So that makes 122 hours without power in the last 12 days. I have never experienced anything like this in New Jersey in the US of A in all of my 57 years. Maybe I’m just lucky, or maybe we’re all, country included, getting a little too old. And we sure picked a fine time to show our age: Now in the 21st century when we need power and electricity more than ever! One minute I’m on the computer, accessing the internet, charging my cell phone, watching television, recording another show on the DVR, texting a friend, tweeting on my iPhone while blow drying my hair. The fridge, washing machine, dryer and dishwasher are all happily doing their thing. The yard and driveway are lit up like a CIA compound in a third world country…and then poof! It’s suddenly the 18th century…for 6 days!!!

     Thankfully electricians from Alabama showed up and fixed our wires and got our neighborhood back up and running. Alabama?! I never, in a million years, thought I’d ever be thanking Alabamans for bringing me back into the 21st century!

     And Speaking of the 21st century…under New Jersey’s energy deregulation law, the supply portion of our electric bill is now separated from the delivery portion. However, it appears that thanks to deregulation we now have more energy suppliers in New Jersey than we have energy road crews! I can hear Glen Campbell now, “I am a lineman for the county and… I’m the only lineman left!”

     I googled energy companies in New Jersey and got tired after counting over 60 different suppliers from all over the country. How do they do that you ask? “Oh we just supply your energy but the same company you’ve always had delivers it through the same wires and from the same place!”

“Really?…but who fixes the electricity when the power goes out?”

“Oh it’s the same company that you’ve always had with the same great service!”

So nothing changes and I just have a new supplier and it costs less? That sounds great…and magical too! Everything I’ve always wanted in a power company! Until the power does go off and then we all sit around in the dark waiting for help from Tinkerbell because our “real” power company has been downsizing and laying off workers so that my old reliable lineman is now really in Wichita looking for a job because Kansas hasn’t deregulated yet.

I know it sounds like I’m just bitching and moaning because I lost my electricity in a freakish storm that will probably never happen again (fingers crossed) BUT, I live in a brave, new world where electricity is now more important than ever and we all use more of it than ever and we all need more of it than ever before.

So you’d think that in an advanced civilization and country such as ours that would translate into having more educated electricians and more skilled linemen and more expert and well trained power crews than ever before but sadly when I walk outside my home during a power blackout these days I am more likely to be stopped and accosted by someone who wants to sell me electricity than someone who knows how or wants to fix it!

We 21st century Americans know that the money is in the selling of things not in the fixing of things. Just ask Wall Street and Enron who came up with the idea of energy deregulation in the first place. You remember Enron don’t you?

On power deregulated Long Island they do. They haven’t had electricity for almost 2 weeks.

Yet on that wonderful truck that pulled into my neighborhood one cold clear November day it simply said “Alabama Power”. Sweet home Alabama, lord please don’t let them deregulate heaven!

 

7 Responses to “Sweet Home Alabama!”

  1. hakesplace November 10, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    I feel you.

  2. hakesplace November 10, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    Reblogged this on Welcome to Hakes' Virtual Cafe and commented:
    When I first moved to South Florida from North Jersey, my welcoming gift was Hurricane Andrew. It destroyed the Redlands, Homestead and surrounding areas. The damage was as widespread as Hurricane Sandy. The death toll was just as high–most deaths from migrant farmers. Some argue that many died but because some are illegals, their death continues undocumented in the count. I live about 15 miles north of what was called “ground zero.” The only suffering: four weeks without electricity and two weeks without the phone. I was one of the few that prepare before the storm as most thought it would just pass on by or be just like all the previous hurricanes that did no harm. Because I prepared, I only witnessed the lines at the grocery shops and gas stations. I witnessed the anger in people erupt as shortages arose. Military people armed with all kinds of weapons and their vehicles became an every day scene–they camped out at Florida International University just minutes from my house. It took about two years for us here in South Florida–two years of learning how to begin living within the norms of what is supposed to be the best country in the wold. We learned how to prepare and we learned how we can lose everything with a stroke of a second. In short, I feel you and pray that all returns to normal soon. It will.

  3. John November 10, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

    Good Lord… Deregulation isn’t always a good thing. Look what it did to the airline industry. Hope things improve very soon.

  4. missriete November 10, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    I wish you all the luck and help you need! I hope you stored enough candles and batteries to last you for weeks, in case of another snowstorm and lack of lineman 🙂

  5. momshieb November 10, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

    Glad you’re back on line! We went through a week of no power in Dec. ’08….I swear, I still have PTSD! We’ve learned to keep extra propane and charcoal briquets in the house now.

  6. sharonsbooks November 11, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    Thank you for the “real – behind the scene” update as to what’s going on after the storm!

  7. From an ink smeared page November 14, 2012 at 1:01 am #

    6 days without power – that’s a whole different lifestyle 🙂

Leave a Reply

The Mouse's Soapbox

observations from a certain, unique perspective - especially, these days, about dating

dancingnomads

Travelling the world and dancing

ruminationville

a gated community for the overthinker

Southern Georgia Bunny

Adventures of an Southern Bunny everything from dating, sex, life and shake your head moments.

Three's a Herd

Mothering a preemie, a princess, and a work-in-progress

Michele Kendzie

family photojournalist, scrapbook designer, and mom of three unschoolers in Fredericksburg, Virginia

lilrant

...What you see is what you get.

ScribbleDartsfromtheHeart

creative expression and imaginative exploration

J.R.Goldrich

Perspectives, Musings, and Messages from the All

Making it write

mostly poetry, partly peculiar.

a cooking pot and twisted tales

Thoughts and Tales...A Lifestyle Blog with a Zing.

opening the shutters

Musings of a Mad Woman...

Terminal Cruise

One woman's weird and wonderful world

The Arm Chair Pontificator

Satirical & Poetic Musings Of A Self-Proclaimed Nobel Prize Winner

alesiablogs

A Blog About Ordinary Life Told In Extraordinary Fashion!

KO Rural Mad As Hell Blog

Rural doctor, mom, writes poems, dance, sing.

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

The Happiness Trick

Let's Get Happy!

