A Heartwarming Message To Saturn

4 Jul

Dear Saturn and General Motors,

I received a recall notice in June that my Saturn Ion could experience power steering problems that may “occur at any time without warning” and “which could result in a crash”. And when I went to the dealership they told me that the part to fix this problem was not available and that my car is safe to drive. So my question to you is…what part of could occur at any time and result in a crash, is safe? The representative at the dealership told me that he wouldn’t drive it but also that I could not get a rental because his “superiors” would not allow it. So please also tell me why you have recalled my car for safety reasons and then put me on hold? My car is useless to me as I have already experienced power steering problems and I and my family are now scared to death of it! And the people on your hotline are rude, disrespectful, sarcastic and absolutely no help at all. They won’t even tell me their last names! What good is a first name without a last one? One of your phone answerers named Dorothia told me that if my power steering shuts off I will just need to “Summon more effort and strength”. I think her last name might be Scratch or Beelzebub! When I was handed over to an “executive” operator named Nicole and asked her whether or not she would let her son or daughter drive said vehicle under the possibility of having to summon their super strength at a moments notice just to steer out of a “potential crash situation” she answered that the question was irrelevant since she had no children! Perhaps her last name was Incubus or Succubus? You should all be ashamed of yourselves! And to think I was once proud to own an American made and General Motors affiliated Saturn… I want my money back!

8 Responses to “A Heartwarming Message To Saturn”

  1. ruminationville July 4, 2014 at 3:50 am #

    I am very sorry to read of this! Please keep us posted.

  2. John July 4, 2014 at 3:52 am #

    That’s a serious load of you know what. I think GM should have been let to sink those many years ago, instead of you and I paying to bail these jokers out for their own screw ups. My car is not a GM product…

  3. makagutu July 4, 2014 at 5:43 am #

    That must be terribly annoying.

  4. A Voice July 4, 2014 at 10:29 am #

    Corporations: safe in a web of complexity, redundancy and anonymity without the real need to worry about governments because, ultimately, they rely on their charity but are in no real way tied to them.

    I’ve seen any number of people, especially young females (20-33) with children, overtly abuse the social safety systems set up to support them. But I can in no way say it’s ‘most’, simply a frustrating minority the truly does tie up a lot of money that genuinely decent people can use. When it comes to corporations I can say the opposite, I think that we all can, that corporations overtly abuse the various tax breaks and ‘good faith’ they are given by any number of people with and without power. And by Corporations I mean the suits.

    Customer Service people are going to be amongst either some of the best or some of the worst people you meet. We experience some of the worst of humanity’s behaviours and are often powerless to respond appropriately because we are not supported by our superiors; often it’s the case that we are told abuse is part of the job and that’s all there is to it. Yet it’s presumed that the job is simple to the point of idiocy and, perhaps, the job on paper really is quite simple…but the job that CSRs actually do isn’t the job on paper and I’d offer that it’s rare that it is.

    Yet CSRs are put in an environment where customers are actively, violently pitted against them and, since their job is thankless, sees no support and generally poor pay, a great many of them either burn out or don’t give a fuck to begin with and thereby reinforce the ‘us v. them’ mentality that the suits set up. Now, of course, I’m in no way condoning what you experienced, simply gesturing to what the situation is like on the whole.

    For my part I’ve worked at the same place as the night auditor/night desk manager since January 2008 after being fired from my then-current job, illegally, because they didn’t want criminals working there. My record was two years old at that point. A brief move in late-May 2011 saw me leave my position on good terms and retake my position in early-December 2011 when it re-opened. The one job I was able to actually get in about August 2011 was one I had to beg for and I was taken advantage of, though not treated with outward malice, which saw me leave in early-November 2011. With that small period aside, I’ve worked for the same man for six years and unless I have a financially dire reason to find a different job I will not leave.

    It’s because of my employer that I have anything at all. He supports us in our decisions and actively calls on us to use our discretion and good judgement. If someone is being abusive or otherwise problematic we know that we have the ability to do the right thing because we are supported, that he will actively have our backs and there have been a number of occasions where any of us experienced that first-hand. This, of course, is something that is strikingly rare and I appreciate every day of it: in this world, in this country, I know that my job is safe and there is nothing there for me to fear.

    Most Corporations and an unhealthy number of CSRs make the genuinely decent-to-good of us look bad because that’s how the system has truly been set up from the inside. You should be furious and it should be politely clear that you are furious. Some companies and the people they hire are genuinely bad, that’s all there is to it. I can understand this due to an experience that was similar in kind.

    It took me roughly one year to get over $2,000 back from Dell/Alienware years ago for not only shipping me two defective-on-receipt gaming laptops (one after the other) and not repaired either, despite receiving it for repairs once (laptop 1) and twice (laptop 2). Within the 30-day return window I was refused a refund despite not having a working laptop and it was only after getting to the very head of the repair department at Alienware that it was possible for me to get in a position where they would ask their superiors if it would be possible to have a refund, given my situation. It two two different approvals. And that’s not a car, it’s just a motherfucking laptop…just a motherfucking computer that won’t kill me ‘at any time without warning’.

  5. Ravi Chander July 4, 2014 at 1:36 pm #

    My previous car was a 12-13 year old Chevy sedan and I wanted to trade it in and get a Chevy suv. However, the salesman at the Chevy dealer (in NJ) was not only rude, but mocked my old car saying I should sell it outside or on craigslist even though their ad mentioned that all old Chevy’s could be traded in for a new one. That upset me and turned me off from even considering a Chevy and I ended up buying a Japanese make.

    GM needs a serious rethink on how they make and support their cars after taking our tax dollars to bail them out. It has become a bloated and sluggish corporation.

    • Ravi Chander July 4, 2014 at 1:39 pm #

      Btw, my old Chevy had power steering problems which is why I wanted to buy a newer one!

  6. Dan Hennessy July 4, 2014 at 3:01 pm #

    Sorry , dude . You want your money back ? It’s already gone off-shore . I had a Saturn years ago — good car . American made , too , except for all the parts . Do they still give the (Japanese style ) cheer when you buy one ?

Leave a Reply

Loving a Frenchman

My Cultural Adventure

saneteachers

What they never taught me in teacher school.

The Last Half

...Spitting into the online ocean.

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for the voices of resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

Joanna Funk

piano accompanist and teacher

Long Awkward Pause

A Humor Mag Of Sorts...

rona black photography

occasional visual essays

Life as a Garden

Exploring how we can live our lives with purpose and joy.

Learning is the Reward

Teaching well is a challenge; learning to teach better is the reward.

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Harriet in Bloom

A place for educators to reflect, recharge, and revive

The Red Herring

“Much unhappiness comes into the world because of bewilderment and things left unsaid.”

tworockchronicles

The official blog of Two Rock Press

Christina Anne Hawthorne

We are each day’s dawning, each moonlight’s glow. It’s within us all.

errinspelling

Just another WordPress.com site

My mind,its products and consequences.

Every story matters, every voice counts. Here are my stories and opinions. Thanks for stopping by.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,449 other followers

